(866) 500-4141
Hours:
24 hours 7 days a week

Hit and Run Accident Attorney in Los Angeles

Call Today for a Free Consultation

California laws provide that a person involved in a traffic accident should stop and give aid to the parties involved as well as provide personal information as well as insurance information to the other party. A person involved in an accident who fails or refuses to stop after a collision is guilty of Hit and Run under California Vehicle Code, Section 20002. This is also known as the “Misdemeanor Hit and Run”. There are different variations of crimes committed by a person who fails to stop after an accident, which may include Felony Hit and Run (CVC Sec. 20001), Vehicular Manslaughter While Intoxicated (California Penal Code, Sec. 191.5(b)) and Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs (CVC 23152 (a). Hence, if you are involved in a Hit and Run accident, the best thing to do is call police authorities right away and seek help from Top Hit and Run Accident Lawyers in Los Angeles who have decades of experience in negotiating and prosecuting these types of vehicle accidents.

hit and run crash

It is never easy to prove traffic accidents, especially hit and run accidents where you don’t know the identity of the negligent party at the outset. In proving your claim, you need to provide evidence showing that, the party at fault was involved in the collision, that he knew that he caused property damage from the collision and that he knowingly fled the scene of the accident. As you can see it is very difficult to obtain compensation for your injuries. Therefore, in case of hit and run accidents, your only best option is to seek legal help from Melrose Law Firm’s diligent Personal Injury Lawyers in Los Angeles who are aggressive and conscientious in protecting your personal injury rights.

Hit and run accidents leave the victims physically and emotionally wounded. Aside from vehicle repair, you may incur hundreds of thousands in medical costs. Therefore, to make sure that you are able to claim the maximum compensation against your insurance in case you are not able to later determine the party at fault, you need to seek legal assistance from top law firms in California like Melrose Law Firm who have over two decades of experience in going after hit and run culprits and even the victim’s own insurance coverage, to make sure that the victim gets properly compensated.

Call Us Now at (866) 500-4141 and we’ll make sure that the hit and run driver will pay a high price for putting your life in danger.

personal injury claim

What to do in case of Hit and Run Accident in Los Angeles?

Hit and run accident happens when a person driving or operating a vehicle hits you and fails to stop to aid you or at least exchange information in order to address the issues of the accident.

The general public has a mistaken notion that this type of accident happens only when a vehicle hits another vehicle and then flees the scene of the traffic accident. On the contrary, there are different kinds of hit and run accident, namely:

  • 1. Vehicle and a vehicle;
  • 2. Vehicle and a property; or
  • 3. Vehicle and a pedestrian
  • Who Pays for a Hit and Run Accident?

    Generally, since the party at fault is not identified, your own insurance generally pays for your accident. There are two types of “at fault” insurance covering this type of accident, namely:

    • 1. Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Insurance – this coverage helps pay for your injuries relating to the hit and run accident; and
    • 2. Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Insurance – this coverage pertains to payments to damage to your property or vehicle.

    However, you need to check if your insurance includes the foregoing coverage. In other states they are not mandatory and in others, uninsured motorist property damages are not allowed.

  • What Should We Do?

    To make sure that you are able to claim against your own insurance at least, you need to save evidence to submit to your insurance company, which includes:

    • 1. Pictures of the accident;
    • 2. CCTV footage of the accident if available;
    • 3. Police report on the incident; and
    • 4. Witness declarations of possible eye witnesses of the accident.
  • What Can You Claim?

    n California, a personal injury victim of hit and run accident can claim property damage, medical costs, future medical care, loss of earnings, pain and suffering and other losses. You can even claim punitive damages due to the wanton disregard of the hit and run driver to your welfare. In worst case scenario, a hit and run mishap can lead to wrongful death, in which case the love ones can also claim burial expenses, loss of consortium and loss of love and support.

CONTACT US TODAY FOR A FREE LEGAL CONSULTATION